Drinking and Driving in North Carolina

Drinking and Driving

It is against the law to operate a motor vehicle in North Carolina while under the influence of impairing substances, including alcohol and various drugs. If you are found to be driving while intoxicated, then you will be arrested and charged with DUI and you could face extremely harsh penalties if convicted of this crime. If you are over the age of 21 and your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher, then you could face harsh penalties for conviction of this crime. It is also important for you to know that there is no evidence brought in a DUI case that cannot be fought against by a skilled representative.

If you are convicted of a first-time DUI, then you could face penalties of at least 24 hours in jail, $200 in fines, and a license suspension lasting up to one year. For a second offense, you could face four days in jail, hefty fines, license suspension for up to four years, and mandatory ignition interlock device installation. This device acts like a breathalyzer that will test your BAC and either allow you to start the engine of your car or prevent the engine from starting. It is important to know that when a police officer stops you in North Carolina and asks you to perform a field sobriety test, you can refuse without incurring additional penalties.

Drinking Driving

Implied Consent

In this state, there is an implied consent law, meaning that if you are driving on the roads of this state, you consent to performing chemical tests such as a breathalyzer or urine test. If you refuse to take this test then you could lose your license for one year. At Scott Law Firm, we provide skillful representation for those that have been charged with various crimes, we understand the severity of the situation that you face, and we can provide you with the aggressive legal assistance that you need. It is important that you speak with our firm as soon as possible in order to begin building a strong defense of your case that will stand up in court.